Gregoire

Crispy Potato Puffs – Gregoire

At last, I have finally had the opportunity to sample the famous potato puffs at Gregoire! I’ve always heard of the long lines, and, as a result, places like these are easy to avoid going to. Sometimes, the long line is worth the wait, but if you want to avoid it, a good idea is to go on a weekday (minus Friday), at opening, or close to closing (but some places don’t serve fresh food anymore past a certain time).

Anyways, this place was not what I expected. I had pictured a cutesy, semi-fancy little shop, amongst a line of many others. Instead, it was as if it was part of a house, in the residential area. The interior is extremely small – most of the place that’s open to public view is the kitchen and it takes up about 3/4 of the room. Barely a handful of people can line up inside, if at all. Thus, I admit, I thought it was a bit sketchy. There’s not much of a place to sit outside either. But don’t be fooled. Their potato puffs ($4.50) take about 15 minutes to make, but it’s like the girl in Despicable Me says, “IT’S SO FLUFFY, I’M GONNA DIE!!” Initially, I didn’t think much of the puffs. They looked like gigantic cheese balls, but one bite and that was all it took to win me over. The golden puffs are extraordinarily creamy and fluffy. I’ve never had anything like it!   

Leave a Reply

