Masse’s Pastries

Macaroons – Masse’s Pastries

For a long time, I’ve wondered what a macaroon was, and nobody seems to be able to fully describe it with confidence. I’ve heard that it’s soft yet firm/crunchy with a smooth filling and that it takes forever to make. Based off of the varying statements I heard, I still had no clear idea of what a macaroon is. To me, it looks like a wafer oreo, or choco pie. And thus, I decided it was best to just try one and see what all the rave is about.

At Masse’s, you can select any color macaroon for $1.25 each. The most popular ones appeared to be hazelnut, chocolate, and caramel. I already had my eyes set on raspberry and chocolate, and I would have selected both, but I just wanted to sample one first. So in going with what seemed to be most popular based on how much of the tray was empty, I chose chocolate. Not too sweet, not too soft, rich ganache in the middle as filling with a nicely textured outer layer surrounding it. Tasted good, but not great, at least not to me, though I know many others would disagree. I think it’s overrated. I prefer sweeter desserts, so perhaps one of Masse’s delicious looking cakes would suit me better – next time!

Leave a Reply

