Off the Grid

Steamed Tender Pork Belly Bun – The Chairman Truck (Off the Grid)

(with Tumeric Pickled Daikon & Green Shiso for $3.75)
I was surprised to see this at the Civic Center. I didn’t know Off the Grid would be here, or that this particular truck was a favorite (voted best food truck in SF magazine!). I guess baked it much more popular (and costs twice as much as steamed buns) because they ran out of all the baked buns by the time I got there, which was around lunch time. The steamed tender pork belly bun tasted like the Chinese banquet buns that you stick a piece of duck meat into. That’s essentially what it is and what it tastes like, except it’s pork instead of duck. It’s small for it’s price, but it’s tasty. Meat was delicious, but I think it’s because it’s mostly fat? Good to try, but I wouldn’t rave about it.

Chocolate Velvet – Kara’s Cupcakes

Chocolate cupcake with bittersweet chocolate buttercream for $3.25 – this truck had a line of women waiting happily to order cupcakes. I liked the little flakes over the frosting, and the cake was moist. Although it had a smooth (or what the owner describes as “velvety”) texture to it, the frosting itself was much too sweet. There was a huge mound of frosting over the actual cake part of it. I was curious about the name, so I chose this flavor, but it would be nice if there were pictures or displays of each type of cupcake available. Perhaps it’s worth trying a different flavor, but this one is too sweet for my taste (even though I usually like sweets!).

Leave a Reply

