The Boiling Crab

The Boiling Crab

Finally had the chance to try this place and see what all the hype is about! I expected a long wait, so I went a little early to try to avoid too long of a wait, plus I was only eating with one other person. Should be quick for a party of 2 right? WRONG. Still ended up waiting about an hour! Tons of people around 5pm. Even to-go orders required a long wait!  Every time I went up to the front desk, the guy told me, “Should be 20 more minutes AT MOST.” Hey buddy, you said that to me 20 minutes ago!! He repeated that line at least 3 times. Giving false hope.

The good thing was that we ended up with a table for 4, allowing us plenty of room for our messy meal. They provide a bib for each person, and they tie it on you too – classy service. The bib is great with its pockets at the bottom to catch anything that drops. The whole table is easily cleaned in a matter of seconds – the tablecloth is just a large piece of butcher paper that wraps up the whole mess, including the plastic bags of sauce, the seafood mess, and the water containers that are made of plastic so they can easily be thrown away.

I ordered a pound of shrimp, $10 per pound, and chose The Whole Sha-Bang! for seasoning, which includes Rajun Cajun, Lemon Pepper, and Garlic Sauce. Surprisingly, this seasoning has the option of being non-spicy. Don’t ask me how Rajun Cajun can be non-spicy! All I know is it still had that unique kick to it, but it wasn’t spicy or even mild. It was somewhere between non-spicy and mild, and I had no idea such a thing existed. The shrimp and sauce were amazing! Easy to peel, juicy with each bite, and plenty to offer in only one pound. Add some of the given lime for extra flavor. Also, if you’re a fan of garlic, you’ll love the sauce that contains whole cloves! Just maybe keep some breath mints handy for later…

My friend ordered a pound of crawfish, but they only had frozen crawfish left. I guess if we were true chefs, we would care whether or not we had fresh vs frozen crawfish, but in the end, both are cooked and smothered with the same sauce, so we can’t really tell the difference between the two! Hence, my friend went with the frozen crawfish, which was only $6 per pound. Seasoning was also The Whole Sha-Bang! and mild. It tasted great and all, but personally, I think it’s far too much trouble trying to rip the shell apart for the tiny piece of meat inside. I’m sticking with shrimp.

Server was friendly. Water refills are provided at no additional charge, but they don’t grab your water container with gloves, so try to keep that in mind if you want to be courteous to them. Otherwise, in the midst of enjoying your amazing meal, you’ll forget to clean your hands a bit before handling your cup, then you’ll wind up getting sauce all over the cup, which the poor waiter will have to touch when refilling your water. You’re given little alcohol wipes at the end of the meal, but I advise washing your hands in the restroom, it’s far more effective. It’s not as big of a place as I imagined, but they have a bunch of flat-screen TVs showing the same channel right next to one another. I usually prefer my shrimp to be pre-peeled for me, but in this case, I’ll make an exception. The taste is definitely worth the mess and effort of peeling each one. Besides, I had fun making an army of shrimp against my friend’s army of crawfish! (see pictures)

Leave a Reply

