Pho Mai 1

One of my friends constantly urged me to try this place, and I finally had the opportunity to come. It’s known for staying open late, plus large portions (particularly if you order XL), plus cheap prices. I ordered #1 on the pho menu – special beef combo of steak, brisket, flank, fatty flank, tendon, and tripe, size XL, $7.79. I was actually hoping for medium, but apparently “medium” doesn’t exist – this place jumps from small straight to large! Go big or go home, right?

XL is humongous. Though it looks like way more soup than noodle, it’s actually a good ratio. Way more noodle than meat, and I didn’t particularly like having so many pieces of fat swimming in my bowl. The broth isn’t extraordinary, but it’ll do. Size wins over taste at this place. The cashier was very surprised and impressed that I finished my entire order. She told me that most customers don’t finish the XL. Well, all I know is, I was definitely full when I finished!

Also ordered Crispy Garlic Chicken, which came with 5 or 6 pieces. Didn’t taste much of the garlic, but it was sweet and tender.

Leave a Reply

