Zucchini Bread

IMG_4270

  • 3 Cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 3 Teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Vegetable Oil (as suggested by reviewers, I used 1/2 Cup Oil and 1/2 Cup Applesauce)
  • 1 Cup1 White Sugar
  • 3 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract (I added 3-1/2 Teaspoons because I wanted to use up the last of my vanilla)
  • 4 Cups Grated Zucchini (I used 3 Zucchinis)
  • 2-1/2 Cups Chopped Walnuts

Directions

  1. Grease and flour two 8 x 4 inch pans (I used one 9.5 x 5.5 inch pan – measuring only the part of the pan that will contain the batter – plus a muffin pan). Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Sift flour, salt, baking powder, soda, and cinnamon together in a bowl.
  3. Beat eggs, oil (and applesauce, if you decide to add it), vanilla, and sugar together in a large bowl. Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well. Stir in zucchini and nuts until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  4. Bake for 40 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes. Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.

Notes

The original recipe makes 2 loaves. However, I did not have 2 bread pans, so I opted for muffins (I was able to make 7 muffins) and a loaf instead. My mother is not a fan of foods that are too sweet, so she always wants me to reduce the sugar. This bread could have been very sweet, but by reducing the sugar by more than half, this bread definitely turned out healthy! 

I reduced the temperature of the over to 315 degrees F, just in case, especially because my oven tends to be very strong and will burn the outside without fully cooking the inside. As a result, the muffins took approximately 10-15 minutes, while the bread took approximately 1 hour to cook. Turned out moist and squishy (likely from the applesauce, not from being undercooked). I’m not a fan of applesauce, but it works with this recipe – you can hardly identify it. The walnuts are an excellent addition to add texture to the bread. Meanwhile, you can hardly taste the zucchini, but it’s definitely there (great way to sneak veggies into a snack)! Reminds me of the following quote from Jim Davis: “Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.”

IMG_4234

IMG_4249

Leave a Reply

