Blaze

IMG_9690

Green Stripe/Art Lover – Blaze

I honestly thought I’d be making a pizza at this Yelp Elite event, and I did, in a way, just not in the way that I had imagined. Upon arrival, I was informed that I could order anything. That’s right, ANYTHING!  This place allows you to design your own pizza by choosing your own toppings, like a pizza version of Subway. So yes, I “made my own pizza,” but I didn’t actually create it with my own hands. But hey, I’ve got no complaints! After all, being told you can order ANYTHING on the menu is a dream come true for a foodie!

IMG_9696

[White Top/BBQ Chkn]

There’s a wide variety of toppings available, and honestly, I considered asking for every topping possible. However, rather than select our own toppings, my +1 and I decided to order signature pizzas that were split in half. In this manner, we were able to sample more than one pizza without going through the stress of deciding which toppings to combine. Genius, I know. 

IMG_9694

We went with half Green Stripe/half Art Lover and half BBQ Chicken/half White Top. All pizzas are 11″.

IMG_9695

  • Green Stripe (left): pesto drizzle over chicken, red peppers, garlic, mozzarella, and arugula
  • Art Lover (right): artichokes, mozzarella, ricotta, garlic, red sauce dollops

IMG_9692

  • BBQ Chkn (left): chicken, mozzarella, red onion, banana peppers, gorgonzola, bbq sauce drizzle
  • White Top (right): white cream sauce, mozzarella, bacon, garlic, oregano, arugula

They were all delicious, but my favorite was BBQ Chkn. Then again, I’ve always been biased toward BBQ chicken pizza at any pizzeria because of the sauce. The dollops of ricotta on Art Lover are fun to eat because they’re cheesy but also semi-solid so it’s like biting into a pillowy marshmallow. I also love arugula on pizza, it’s like eating a pizza salad! My only gripe is that White Top hardly has any bacon.

20150210_204120

I also had a S’more Pie! The staff will ask if you’d like it to be toasted – say YES! Melted marshmallow and chocolate sandwiched between lightly toasted crackers, mmm….

IMG_9697

To complete my meal, I selected a Tomato, Basil & Ovalini salad with Balsamic Glaze. The leaves are a little too raw without the balsamic, but when everything is tossed and combined together, it’s a great salad. This was my attempt to be healthy after all the pizza I had!

IMG_9702

This is easily my favorite Yelp Elite event! I definitely did not expect an all you can eat pizza event, but I absolutely loved it! Seriously, as a foodie, all I could think was, “Best day ever!!” There was also a workstation to make DIY chef hats out of tissue paper, though no directions were included so we had to be creative and figure it out ourselves. I had a ton of fun and hope to see more events like this!

IMG_9689

 

Leave a Reply

