China Chef

This place was my first restaurant to try in the city of Winston-Salem, and it was chosen mostly because of a craving for Chinese food, and also because it happened to be nearby. I wanted noodles originally, but when I tried ordering Chow Mein, the cashier told me that it wasn’t the type of Chow Mein that I was thinking of. As soon as he said that, I thought, ohhhhh no, here we go again with the so-called “Chow Mein!”

I have learned that Chow Mein refers to crispy Egg Noodle Chips down in the South. I’m glad I was warned about this prior to ordering, because I would definitely have said something about my meal! Cashier was Asian. I am Asian. So there was a mutual understanding. However, you don’t have to be Asian to know that when you Google “Chow Mein,” the first page of results will show you that Chow Mein refers to crispy noodles, but you will see that they do NOT look like noodle chips!

After having all these thoughts run through my mind and refusing to give up on having some decent Chinese food in NC, I switched my choice to Shrimp with Lobster Sauce, under the Special Combination Plates, which are served with Pork Fried Rice (Char siu, to be exact) and an Egg Roll for $6.99. I was very thankful to have been warned by the cashier of what would have been a very poor decision. I was very pleased with my final decision, particularly because of the jumbo sized shrimp. It came with approx 6 pieces of shrimp. It mixes very well with the Fried Rice. The Egg Roll is thick in size, but I didn’t care much for it.

I also tried a bit of the BBQ Spare Ribs, also off of the Special Combo Plates menu. Comes with 4 ribs, and it was delicious.

20160825_163926

Top: BBQ Spare Ribs Combo; Bottom: Shrimp with Lobster Sauce Combo

Leave a Reply

