Umami

If you’re craving both sushi and ramen and can’t decide which one you want more, get both at Umami!

This is a small place, but I came on a Thursday night and thankfully did not have to wait to be seated. I had the Tokyo Style Tonkotsu Ramen, which comes with 2 slices of pork, green onion, and half of an egg for $11.50 (an additional half of an egg is $1 extra). I don’t understand why customers are only allowed half an egg, it’s not like there’s a shortage of eggs in town. Also, the pork was too dry. But the ramen and broth – wow! Such great texture in the noodles and packed with flavor in the soup! I do suspect a significant amount of added MSG though because I was extremely thirsty after my meal. Perhaps this is why I absolutely loved the soup. Warmed me right up that evening.

20161027_183309

Tonkotsu Ramen

I also tried the Baked Langoustine Roll (8 pieces), which consists of crab meat, avocado, and cream cheese. It’s topped with Langoustine (a slim orange-pink lobster about the size of a prawn) and baked in Dynamite Sauce (whatever that is…) for $13.50. Not spicy, which is what I prefer anyway. The Langoustine was a little too chewy, but overall, the sushi was delicious.

20161027_183408

Baked Langoustine Roll

My experience was great, with the exception of a few complaints. I do greatly appreciate that the server gave my boyfriend a $10 gift card for his birthday, which she only knew of because she had checked his ID upon ordering an alcoholic beverage. That was a wonderful surprise!

Leave a Reply

