Ryan’s

img_3322

Need a spot in Winston-Salem for a classy occasion? Ryan’s is the place to go! It’s a hidden spot that can be hard to find at night, and DEFINITELY super sketchy as you drive to the back of a building and into the woods…. but once you locate it, the food and the cabin-like interior are fantastic!

img_3316

Bacon Wrapped Scallops

img_3317

She-Crab Soup

Started dinner off with an appetizer of Bacon Wrapped Scallops (5) in teriyaki glaze and topped with lemon slices, $14. Sweet yet savory and juicy! Then came the She-Crab Soup, $5. Great blubbering barnacles of the sea, it was the BEST She-Crab Soup I have ever had! That stuff just MELTS in your mouth and leaves your taste buds wanting more and more and more! Each spoonful contains so much crab meat. For my entree, I had the Chilean Sea Bass over tomato saffron basmati, spinach, balsamic reduction, and topped with pineapple salsa, $34. The presentation was beautiful. The sea bass had a nice sear to it, but I thought it was a little overcooked and dry. For sides, the Four Cheese Macaroni and Cheese (made with cavatappi, $6) and Garlic Button Mushrooms ($6) were delicious. Finally, for dessert, I tried the Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée, which is topped with a raspberry ($8), and Ryan’s Triple Chocolate Cake with chocolate ganache icing ($8). I decided to lightly tap my spoon against the crust of the Crème Brûlée, as if I was Gordon Ramsey on Master Chef, and it was the perfect sound! However, I didn’t care much for the taste of the Crème Brûlée – there was no “wow” factor for me. I definitely enjoyed the Chocolate Cake though. First of all, it looked like it was bleeding chocolate. I did everything I could to save that cake from excess “blood” loss by consuming the cake in its entirety, which proved quite difficult because that cake was incredibly rich. But don’t worry, any shred of evidence of a possible murder scene was wiped clean by the time I put my utensil down for the night!

img_3321

Chilean Sea Bass

img_3323

Four Cheese Macaroni and Cheese (left) and Garlic Button Mushrooms (right)

img_3325

Crème Brûlée

img_3324

Ryan’s Triple Chocolate Cake

 

Leave a Reply

