Red Oven Pizza

During the long wait for the Skull Island Kong ride, there are giant gorilla skulls sculpted into the walls with fire blazing in their eye sockets. Maybe I was hungry and didn’t realize it, or maybe it was the excruciatingly long 105-minute wait making me delirious, but I began to wonder how many pizzas could be baked in all the fire-blazing eye sockets. It was only a matter of time before I made my way to an actual pizzeria with real pizza ovens.

20161221_191602

Margherita Pizza

20161221_191536

Pesto Pizza

 

I had the Margherita Pizza (basil, buffalo mozzarella, San Marzano tomatoes, and extra virgin olive oil, $13) and the Pesto Pizza (basil pesto, mozzarella, and ricotta, $13). Much to my surprise, the “red pizza” did not have tomato sauce, only tomatoes on top of the cheese base. I was expecting a tomato sauce base PLUS tomatoes, because to me, a “red pizza” refers to the color of the base sauce. I felt that this was not made clear.

Nonetheless, food tasted great and service was great. But how cool would it be if they made a Skull Island pizza place with Kong pizza ovens?!?

Leave a Reply

